Making Furniture Interactive

September 11, 2007

destress sock

Filed under: Exercise 2: Add a Switch — deskenaz @ 5:28 pm

I thought it would be interesting to use simple home materials to create an object that would help you destress when coming home. Like a stress ball, I designed a sock that can be squeezed to let out your day’s frustrations. A blinking light is constantly on, so you keep squeezing the sock until the light just stays on and provides some nice light. If you let go, the light goes back to annoying blinking.

img_3643.jpgaluminum foil, sponge. simple.

img_3646.jpgthe ugly innards: foil, sponge, cotton balls, sticky tack.

img_3647.jpgthe final setup. laptop => arduino => sock . the light is blinking annoyingly

img_3651.jpgstress free!  I have ended the blink and kept the light on!

Using home materials wasn’t as nice as I had hoped. I had trouble working the code correctly also, I had originally wanted to be able to very slow turn the light off by squeezing, but wasn’t sure how to just dim the light and then keep it off until I let go. I’d like to try to use a pressure switch to detect how hard I am pressing, maybe that would work well.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

