Making Furniture Interactive

October 15, 2007

At least you tried.

Filed under: Jenn Gooch — jenngooch @ 10:41 pm

I thought I would touch in, though I’ve yet to complete a working automata. After failing with my attempts to manifest one in cardboard I turned to more stable and familiar materials. I also figured out something that I wanted to automate, a problem previously.

This is a school desk with a mechanized hand that pats you on the back. Still working on the motor/cam.

at least you tried image

I would like to have an audio element, probably using a little digital audio device I’ve used for some other circuit bending (pulled from a digital audio memo refrigerator magnet) which would say something encouraging, yet indicative of failure, like, “At least you tried.”

I am also working on an automatic rosary counter, with help from Ian Ingram, using the CMU developed Qwerk Microcontroller, which has text-to-speech capabilities. It will (hopefully) count and deliver the appropriate prayer per bead.

Both of these fit within a series I think of as Appliances for the Neurotic.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

