Making Furniture Interactive

December 17, 2007

Something More Fashionable

Filed under: Final Project,Jenn Gooch — jenngooch @ 6:21 pm

My goal for this project was to circuit bend a CD player to be controlled by a sensor/micro-contoller. I found the hardest thing about this was to “zero out” the CD’s built-in functions so that I had complete control over its starting and stopping. This involved coding in some measures to make sure it stopped before the CD was told to play, so that it wouldn’t pause instead. This took some time to fully figure out, and I think there is a lot of undiscovered potential for this system that I hope to implement in some upcoming pieces.

While I’m pleased to have achieved my main goal of the CD player circuit bend, I wish I had more time to develop the content (audio) to better utilize the technical developments.

int cd1stop = 2;
int cd1play = 3;
int cd1forward = 4;
int sensorPin = 0;
int val = 0; // variable to store the value coming from the sensor

void setup()
{
pinMode(cd1stop, OUTPUT);
pinMode(cd1play, OUTPUT);
pinMode(cd1forward, OUTPUT);
pinMode(sensorPin, INPUT); // }

void loop()
{
val = analogRead(sensorPin); // read the value from the sensor
delay(1000);
if (val < 850) // zero out CD player (automatically plays) and stop it {digitalWrite(cd1play, HIGH); delay(100); digitalWrite(cd1stop, LOW); delay(1000); digitalWrite(cd1stop, HIGH); delay(1000); } else // play {digitalWrite(cd1play, LOW); } }[/sourcecode]

1 Comment »

  1. Ms. Gooch

    I have now taken time to admire all the art that you have broadcast accross the internet and I must say that I am mightily impressed. I remember being a child at the Silvermine Guild display and being fascinated by a sculpture that was made of plexiglass in the shape of a cylinder and a dome seperated into compartments and containing a beach ball each. At the base of the cylinder were 4 volkswagen gas pedals upon which you pressed down to get the ball to inflate. That was over 30 years ago (I think I was 5 or 6) and I can still see the aparatus/art as clearly if it were here in front of me. So you can imagine how appealing I find your work, in the same vein but infinitely more technical and current. THANKS and please keep on making and doing. Jud PS please do keep me abreast of new pieces via myspace or directly via e-mail at judaskins@earthlink.net. Thanks and best wishes for the New Year.

    Comment by Jud — December 27, 2007 @ 5:25 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

